Contact Us
Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport
Return to your home site


Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Boater Arrested After Woman Critically Injured In Fairfield County

Easton's Thomas, Weston's Carter Win Sports Person Of The Year Awards

Easton triathlete Chris Thomas will receive the Sports Person of the Year award at Sports Night in October. Photo Credit: Contributed
Weston's Michael Carter will receive the Sports Person of the Year award at Sports Night in October. Photo Credit: Contributed

FAIRFIELD COUNTY, Conn. -- Weston’s Michael Carter and Easton’s Chris Thomas will receive the Sports Person of the Year Award for their communities at the Fairfield County Sports Commission’s 10th annual Sports Night dinner on Monday, Oct. 20.

Carter and Thomas will receive the award along with winners from 13 other communities at the Hyatt Regency Greenwich. The dinner begins at 6 p.m.

Thomas is one of the nation’s top triathletes, and Carter won the award for his work on the Weston High School stadium lighting project.

The Sports Commission is establishing an annual Sports Person of the Year for Newtown as part of its recent working alliance with the Newtown Youth Academy Sports and Fitness Center. Each year going forward Newtown will be included in the recognition of the sports persons in each community in an effort to support the town and its youth following the shooting tragedy at Sandy Hook. This year's winner is Maura Fletcher, who led the Newtown High girls' lacrosse team to 10 straight SWC titles before retiring in June. Fletcher was named the Connecticut High School Coaches Association Coach of the Year for girls' lacrosse.

The Sports Persons of the Year from other communities are:

  • BRIDGEPORT- Central High boys' basketball team, Class LL state champions
  • DARIEN -- Alex Ostberg, Darien High School track champion
  • FAIRFIELD- Christian Alvarado, Fairfield Prep runner, National 1-mile champion
  • GREENWICH- Austin Longi, Greenwich High football and track & field standout
  • MONROE- Tatum Buckley, Masuk High softball pitcher, Gatorade State Player of Year
  • NEW CANAAN- Max Pacioretty, U.S. Olympic hockey player, NHL standout
  • NORWALK- Cameron Wilson, NCAA individual golf champion
  • SHELTON- Division 10 Shelton Vikings cheer team, national champions
  • STAMFORD- Stamford Stars 12U softball team, New England champions
  • STRATFORD- Stratford Brakettes, undefeated national champion softball team
  • TRUMBULL- St. Joseph High boys' lacrosse team, Class S state champions
  • WESTPORT- Hannah DeBalsi, Staples High runner, National 2-mile champion
  • WILTON- Noah Farrell, Wilton High tennis player, 4-time Class L state champion

The Fairfield County Sports Commission is a 501c3 nonprofit organization that is the one-stop resource for the sports community in the area, with a mission of promoting fitness and personal development through sports. For more information concerning tickets and sponsorship opportunities for Sports Night, visit or call 203-251-8481.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.