Contact Us
Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport
Return to your home site


Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport

Nearby Towns


Westport Citizens Transit Committee Formed

WESTPORT, Conn. – A new town committee charged with making Westport’s transit system more efficient drives into action Tuesday night, First Selectman Gordon Joseloff announced Monday afternoon.

The Citizens Transit Committee , created by Joseloff in April, comprises eight resident volunteers. Police Chief Dale Call and Terry Giegengack, assistant director of the Westport Human Service Department, will serve as ex-officio members.

“I am grateful that these Westporters have agreed to serve to make our Westport Transit District more efficient and responsive to community needs,” Joseloff said in a statement.

The committee will evaluate the town’s transit system, including usage, routes and cost, and then make recommendations to improve efficiency and service, Joseloff said. It will also work with directors of the Westport Transit District and outside agencies like the South Western Regional Planning Agency, which is also evaluating Westport’s transit system.

The committee will be led by James Ross, chairman, and Peter Gold, vice chairman. Other committee members are Eugene Cederbaum, Zoe Cohen, Carl Lindahl, Steven McClenning, Carolin Sigal and Melissa Salottolo. Committee members serve one-year terms.

The committee will hold its first public meeting Tuesday at 7:30 p.m. in room 102 at Town Hall, 110 Myrtle Ave.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.