Contact Us
Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport
Return to your home site


Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Severe Storms With Gusty Winds, Heavy Rain Moving Through Area

Battle For New First Selectman Tops The Ballot In Redding

Redding residents will cast ballots on Tuesday in a number of municipal races. Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Redding residents will cast ballots on Tuesday in a number of municipal races. Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Photo Credit: File

REDDING, Conn. -- Before you head to your polling place Tuesday to vote in the municipal elections, take a look at the races in Redding and decide how to cast your ballot.

The top race in Redding is between Republican Chris Hocker and Democrat Julia Pemberton in a fight to become the new first selectman in town after Natalie Ketcham decided not run for re-election.

Election Day is Tuesday in Connecticut, with the polls open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Redding Community Center on Lonetown Road behind Redding Elementary School.

You can check for registration here by clicking on the "Registered To Vote? Check Now" box on the right side of the home page or by calling town hall.

Below is a list of races in Redding as supplied by the website of Connecticut Secretary of the State Denise Merrill:

First Selectmen (Vote for One):

Republican Party candidate Chris Hocker

Democratic Party candidate Julia Pemberton

Selectmen (Vote for One):

Republican Party candidate Michael Thompson

Democratic Party candidate Leon Karvelis

Town Clerk (Vote for One):

Republican/Democratic Party candidate Michele R. Grande

Town Treasurer (Vote for One):

Republican Party Candidate Frank Taylor

Democratic Party Candidate Margaret (Peg) O'Donnell

Tax Collector (Vote for One):

Republican/Democratic Party Candidate Patricia J. Moisio

Board of Finance (Vote for Two):

Republican Party Candidate Susan Clark

Democratic Party Candidate Kimberly A. Yonkers

Board of Education (Vote for Two):

Republican Party candidates Jess Gaspar and Allyson Florkowski

Democratic Party candidates Sara Sobel and Edward Miller

Board of Assessment Appeals (Vote for Two):

Republican Party candidates Frederick Miller and Greg Stackpole

Democratic Party Candidate Elizabeth S. Leonard

Planning Commission (Vote for Three):

Republican Party Candidates Thomas Flagg and Gerald Sarnelli

Democratic Party candidate Toby Welles

Zoning Commission (Vote for Two):

Republican Party candidate Theodore Ogonek

Democratic Party candidate Joseph C. Ventricelli

Zoning Board of Appeals (Vote for Two)

Republican Party Candidate Henry Polio

Democratic Party Candidate Paul R. Scholl

Zoning Board of Appeals Alternates (Vote for Three):

Republican Party Candidates Robert Given and Trevor Furrer

Democratic Party Candidate Scott Smith

Constables (Vote for Four):

Republican Party Candidates William Cook, Gerald Sarnelli and Peter Bielawa

Democratic Party Candidates Jane M. Ross, Annet Bonfanti and Charles P. Mullaney

Green Party Candidate Leif R. Smith

Regional Board of Education (Vote for Two):

Republican Party Candidate Walter King

Democratic Party Candidate Mark Lewis

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.