Contact Us
Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport
Return to your home site


Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Salmonella Outbreak Linked To Turkey Sickens 90 In 26 States

How Westport Voted

Westport voters let their voices be heard in Tuesday's midterm elections. Of the 17,728 registered voters, 11,492 voters, nearly 65 percent, turned out. And from the official results, it seems the town stayed true to its Democratic reputation.

Here's an overview of how the town voted:

In the race for governor and lieutenant governor, Democrats Dan Malloy and Nancy Wyman beat Republicans Tom Foley and Mark Boughton by 582 votes. In total, the Republicans received 5,297 votes while the Democrats received 5,879. Independents Thomas Marsh and Cicero Booker Jr. received 58 votes.

In the U.S. Senate race, Democrat Richard Blumenthal gained 6,229 votes and his competitor, Republican Linda McMahon, received 5,048 votes. John Mertens, the Connecticut for Lieberman candidate, received 47 votes and Independent Warren Mosler, 76 votes. Write-in candidates Brian Hill and Carl Vassar both received one vote.

Democrat Jim Himes was victorious in the Fourth Congressional District race, winning 6,372 votes. His opponent, Dan Debicella, received 4,979 votes.

In the state Senate race for District 26, Sen. Toni Boucher was ahead with 5,727 votes and her challenger, Democrat John Hartwell, had 5,425 votes.

In the House District 133 race, Rep. Kim Fawcett topped her Republican opponent Dee Dee Brandt, 545-446.

In the attorney general race, Democrat George Jepsen bested Republican candidate Martha Dean with 5,696 votes to her 5,096 votes. Stephen E.D. Fournier, the Green Party and Independent candidate, received 171 votes.

Of five secretary of the state candidates on the ballot, Democrat Denise Merrill saw a big win with 5,676 votes. Republican Jerry Farrell received 4,967 votes, Green Party candidate S. Michael DeRosa, 89 votes, Libertarian Ken Mosher got 90 votes and Independent Michael J. Telesca gained 103 votes.

In the comptroller race, Democrat Kevin Lembo gained a total of 5,415 votes while Republican Jack Orchulli received 5,083 votes. Colin Bennett, the Green Party candidate, got 81 votes, Joshua Katz, libertarian, received 130 votes, and Independent Hugh Dolan received 110 votes.

With 5,585 votes, incumbent Democrat Denise Nappier was ahead for treasurer. Republican candidate Jeff Wright got 5,192 votes, Green Party candidate S. David Bue gained 77 and independent Andrew Grant White garnered 100 votes.

Democrat incumbent Kevin O'Grady was re-elected to probate judge with 6,263 votes. His opponent, Jacob "Jan" Bryniczka, with a total of 4,686 votes, lost.

Robert Lasprogato, the Republican candidate for registrar of voters, received 5,021 votes. Marla Cowden, the Democratic registrar, received 5,732 votes. Both ran uncontested.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Get the news you need to know on the go.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.