Contact Us
Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport
Return to your home site


Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport

Nearby Towns


Easton Returns a Republican Majority

EASTON, Conn. – Both Easton’s town clerk and first selectman kept their seats in Tuesday’s election.

Republican First Selectman Tom Herrmann was re-elected for his third term against two write-in candidates, Richard Seclow, a Republican, and Robert Webbe, who is unaffiliated. Herrmann won with 1,095 votes. Webbe received 326 votes and Seclow earned 18.

“I did reasonably well,” Herrmann said. “In the big picture, the turnout was very low.”

Only 1,730 people voted in this year’s election, 33 percent of the 5,093 registered voters in town. Herrmann took this to mean that the “people are well-satisfied with how business is being conducted in Easton.”

One of his write-in opponants, Webbe, said this was a great civics lesson for him. “It was a great experience for me – it was my first experience in political life – and it was enjoyable, and it was great to meet more people in Easton,” Webbe said.

Whether he would consider running again is something he said he would have to think about.

For Republican Town Clerk Derek Buckley, a Republican, the result of 1,097 votes for him was expected. “I have good connections with the people and I think I have a good understanding of what they want,” Buckley said.

His opponent, Democrat Michael Kivell, lost with 596 votes and was unavailable to comment.

Election results (winners in italics).


Robert Lessler (Dem) 631

Scott Centrella (Rep) 971


Christine Calvert (Rep) 1,331

Tax Collector

David Smith (Dem) 653

Patrice Hilderbrand (Rep) 1,022

Board of Finance – Full term

Paul Lindoerfer (Dem) 624

Luis Paul Rosamilia (Dem) 596

Lee Hanson (Rep) 1,070

Fred Knopf (Rep) 1,039

Board of Finance – Two year vacancy

Claire Gold (Dem) 690

Christian Griffin (Rep) 957

Board of Education – Full term

Dainiel Undererger (Dem) 611

Jeffery Parker (Rep) 1,024

Board of Education – Four year vacancy

Vida Peskay (Dem) 951

Board of Eduation – Two year vacancy

Regina Bobroske (Dem) 955

Board of Assessment Appeals – Full term

Lori Mezes (Rep) 1,026

Board of Assessment Appeals – Four year vacancy

Reynolds Gordon (Dem) 923

Board of Assessment Appeals – Two year vacany

Dennis Kokenos (Rep) 1,276

Zoning Board of Appeals

John Harris (Rep) 1,284


Gloria Bindelglass (Dem) 669

Richard Greiser (Dem) 726

Irving Silverman (Dem) 830

George Beno (Rep) 941

John Johnston (Rep) 949

Gary Joseph Stevens (Rep) 755

Joseph Silhavy (Rep) 1,057

Library Director

Jonathan Sonnenborn (Dem) 675

Todd Pajonas (Rep) 833

Regional Board of Education – Full term

Paul Coppinger (Dem) 690

Carolyn Colangelo (Rep) 1,040

Vance Hancock (Rep) 1,109

Regional Board of Education – Two year vacancy

Margot Abrams (Dem) 707

Todd Andrew Johnston (Rep) 876

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.