Contact Us
Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport
Return to your home site


Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport

Nearby Towns


Dems Earn Top Slots in Weston

WESTON, Conn. ? First Selectman Gayle Weinstein and Selectman Dave Muller, both Democrats, earned their second consecutive terms as Weston’s leaders Tuesday.

“Dave and I ran a campaign based on what we believe is right for the people of Weston," said Weinstein, surrounded by her family. "I am so excited and I want to thank everyone who came out to vote.”

Weinstein beat out Selectman Dan Gilbert in the First Selectman race, earning 1,401 votes to Gilbert’s 1,063.

A disappointed Gilbert said, “The people spoke. Gayle has been a great First Selectman and she should be commended for a great victory.” He congratulated Weinstein on her win and left soon after the results were announced.

Muller earned 1,248 votes and Republican Dennis Tracey got 1,209 in the Selectman race. Since Muller and Tracey earned more votes than Gilbert, there will now be a new Board of Selectman consisting of Weinstein, Muller and Tracey.

Gasps and feverish claps could be heard throughout the Weston Middle School gym after hearing the moderators announce Tracey’s tally. “I am very happy with the composition of the new board," Muller said. "I think this is great and Dennis is a great guy. I am very excited.”

Some 2,486 of Weston's 6,369 registered voters came to the polls, which is a 39-percent turnout.

The complete Election Day results are:

First Selectman

Gayle Weinstein (D): 1,401

Dan Gilbert (R): 1,063


David Muller (D): 1,248

Dennis Tracey (R): 1,209

Town Clerk

Donna Anastasia (R): 1,825

Tax Collector

Charity Nichols (R): 1,775

Board of Finance:

Michael Carter (R): 1,673

Jerry Sargent (R): 1,631

David Finkel (R): 1,437

Steven Ezzes (D): 1,407

Larry Skor (D): 1,302

Planning and Zoning Commission (Full Term):

Don Saltzman (R): 1,580

Jane Connolly (D): 1,483

Kenneth Edgar (D): 1,453

Pierre Ratte (R): 1,361

Ridge Young (D): 1,309

Planning and Zoning Commission (Two Year Vacancy)

Britta Lerner (R): 1,750

Zoning Board of Appeals

Richard Wold (R): 1,499

Jeffrey Tallman (R): 1,439

Bob Gardner (D): 1,311

Marilyn Parker (D): 1,295

Zoning Board of Appeals (Alternate)

Glenn Van Deusen (R): 1,668

Zoning Board of Appeals (Two Year Vacancy)

John Moran (R): 1,675

Board of Education:

Ellen H. Uzenoff (R): 1,420

Nina Daniel (R): 1,242

Philip Schaefer (D): 1,123

Dana Levin (D): 974

Board of Assessment Appeals

Susan Seath (R): 1,719

Police Commission:

Jess DiPasquale (R): 1,550

William Brady (R): 1,471

Beth Gralnick (D): 1,414

Susan Moch (D): 1,238

What are your thoughts on Tuesday races? Do you think Weston made the right decision? Leave a comment below and tell us what you think!

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.