Contact Us
Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport
Return to your home site


Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Black Ice Advisory Issued For Melting Snow Refreezing

Are Your Westport Reps Seeking Re-election?

WESTPORT, Conn. – Eight representatives to Westport's 36-member legislative body are not seeking re-election in November, leaving openings in seven of nine districts.

According to a document from the Town Clerk's office, they are Judy Starr and Liz Milwe of District 1, Linda Bruce of District 2, Robert Galan of District 3, Gene Seidman of District 4, Barbara Levy of District 5, Michael Rea of District 8 and Kevin Green of District 9.

Members of the non-partisan RTM are elected for two-year terms. They must approve town ordinances and all appropriations larger than $20,000, and they cast the final vote on the town budget. They also serve on two or more RTM committees and review certain decisions of town boards and commissions.

Rea, chairman of the RTM Finance Committee, was recently endorsed by the Republican Town Committee as a candidate for the Board of Finance. He has served on the RTM for six terms.

Starr, chairwoman of the RTM Public Works Committee, has served five terms. Milwe, Bruce, Galan, Levy and Green have all served two terms. Seidman has served on the RTM for three terms.

If any of the eight wanted to run in November, he or she would have had to file a petition with the Town Clerk's office.

Residents interested in becoming a candidate for the RTM must file a petition signed by 25 registered voters in their district. The petition must be filed with the Town Clerk's office by Sept. 13. Election Day is Nov. 8.

Are your favorite RTM members up for re-election?

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.